Production Company: Progression & Recruitment

I don’t often post merely to hu-rah-rah about my guild, but since we’re actively recruiting at the moment, I thought I’d take a moment to report on our progress in Firelands! I actually wrote this post a couple of weeks ago, but I loved my screenshots so I just took the liberty of tacking on our last week of progress at the bottom!

(Recruitment information can be found at the bottom of the post for those interested!

Two weeks ago we cleared 6/7 Firelands in 2-1/2 hours, leaving us plenty of time to tackle Ragnaros.

While we didn’t manage to get him down on Wednesday, Thursday saw the big shiny chest of loot-ness open at our feet. While I was terribly disappointed when we didn’t get the kill on Monday night, in retrospect, I’m glad that we had we had the extra week to see everything again on normal, and really make our kills that much cleaner. Having a really solid understanding of mechanics on normal really does smooth out the heroic experience!

Since we nabbed our Rag kill, that left us a good 5 hours of raid time to kill that week so we decided to work on clearing up the last of our Tier 11 bosses (which ended at 10/13). First stop was our old nemesis Cho’gall who went down like a ton of bricks. It was a nice change of pace for me, being one of the few fights I get to be the steely eyed lazer-chicken of doom, and I just gotta say, I love those magic mushrooms.

With our last 1/2 hour we took a peek at Sinestra, and I blew up the raid time and time and time again running little purple orbs into all kinds of people–tanks, fellow healers, dps–and while I can’t say I was proud of myself, it was fun to watch people flee in panic when they saw me coming!

Last week saw our first attempts and kill of Heroic Shannox. While we did get a bit of work in on Alysrazor our main priority was making sure we finished the week with a full clear which left us once again facing down Sinestra.

Gotta say, I’m lovin’ it!

Recruitment Information

I’ve stolen quite a bit of this information from our official recruitment thread; however, since this is my space, I thought I’d highlight some things I thought were uber important instead of doing the old cut and paste job. If this sounds like the place for you, see our website for application and detailed guidelines. If you’d like to speak to our recruiter/raid leader directly, he can be contacted in-game on Gaìa or Xeus or by e-mail at 10manraiding [at] gmail [dot] com.

 

Open Positions
  • Plate Wearer (1). Must have viable tanking specialization, although main/off-spec choice is up to preference of applicant. High Priority
  • Any (1). While we’d prefer a main/off-spec healing option, exceptional applicants of any stripe are encouraged to apply. Low-Medium Priority
Basic Stats
  • Type: 10-man
  • Progression: 1/7 HM Firelands; 10/13 HM Tier 11 at end of tier
  • Schedule: M, W, Th 7 p.m. – 10 p.m. PST
  • Inception: July 2007
Things to Expect If You Apply
  • Expect a long and detailed forum discussion. Members are seeking strong raid-mates and will talk with you until you’re ready to kill your own application to stop the questions! (It’s not really that bad, but not for those who want a yes/no based on their character sheet).
  • Do not exclude yourself solely on gear. We are looking for applicants who can demonstrate their knowledge and ability to not poke themselves in the eye with their own weapons.
  • An adult raid team that expects its members to be around for the long haul.
  • And if you’re really  interested, you should see this post that got me recruited.

2 thoughts on “Production Company: Progression & Recruitment

  1. It was a lot more than just that post that got you recruited. How well we liked your overall attitude is basically what it boiled down to.

    Your blog was filled with examples that made it clear that you understand what was involved in running and maintaining a good relationship between a guild and its raiders with multiple examples from both sides of the fence.

    You also made it clear that you were capable and *willing* to doing actual research beyond “I watch whatever videos tankspot posts once or twice and am now fully prepared to pwn face”

    Our decision to recruit you was mainly based on your approach to the game and raiding in particular. I felt confident that i would never end up having a conversation with you where I was trying to explain why it was necessary to read the patch notes for your class or that keeping an open channel of communication with the rest of your guild is a good idea.

    Self-correcting raiders who genuinely just enjoy raiding for the same of the challenge are a surprisingly rare commodity. The fact that you turned out to not be horrible at pressing your buttons in the proper order and at the right time (most of the time anyway ;-) was a nice outcome as well.
    <3

  2. This post has made me notice something very important. Our priest is consistently standing in front of me so that I don’t appear in the screenshots. Heads will roll.

Comments are closed.