Throttling Down

I was a little taken aback, a little swept away by my precipitous return to WoW. Was it the lovely personalities, the game itself, the need to achieve with speed. Nope, nope, and nope. It was the strong desire to fiddle, to flex my dictatorial spirit and whip my troops back into shape. My mods that is. Major patches mean major breaks in UI functionality, and while this one was kinder than most, the loss of my favorite DK add-on (RIP Magic Runes) left me rebuilding from the ground-up.

How I love my projects. (No, there’s no preview yet. It’s not pretty! However, my WeakAuras still work if you’re looking for some portable strings for restoration druids).

Although I expected to jump in, clean up, and be all nice and tidy for MoP, the very act of synchronizing my achievements, pets, and mounts led me to want something…more. I started doing some dailies. I ran a dungeon or two. And lo and behold, over the weekend, guild chat reached a grand tally of 5 people. It may not sound like much, but for our 10-man raiding guild with a 12-13 roster, it was like having the crew back together again.

This coincides rather nicely with a number of interesting developments that have been occurring on the guild forums. A couple of threads have opened up, and people are actually beginning to respond. Although we’re still iffy on a few folks, it looks like the proposed 4-5 hour raiding week will fly, and Production Company will be killing internet dragons in October.

And that brings me to the topic on my mind today, the one that I imagine will be floating around with me all week as I try to decide what I would do if I had any flex, flex that I don’t ever, ever, ever want. Although our guild will still be raiding, we’re not going to be first on the starting line in progression kills. There’s a firm realization that clearing all heroic content before the next tier is over the horizon for MoP. I’m ok with that, and any number of folks are too, or they’d have jumped ship by now.

What it does portend is still up in the air. What kind of applicants would be interested in a single raiding day and be as raid-ready as we’d like? Probably not many. Folks that would like to be in a guild like ours: I hope quite a few! But I also expect that folks who can only raid once a week are going to expect a bit more from their guild environment that our usually stony silence and total disregard for non-raiding days. If we only raid once a week, we might actually make some time to log in to run a dungeon, or even better, a challenge mode on another night.

So in addition to needing alts filling out our roster for a more flexible and mobile raiding team, we want to encourage alts, friends, and family members to feel cozy in our guild–to provide a good environment that encourages warm, fuzzy, and most of all dependable feelings of love and loyalty to the great Production Company Sun Banner.

And that’s where people like me come in. Someone who had their husband leave the guild after a year or so to join his alt bank. Who pulled out her own alts to help level said guild. Who had a friend roll some new alts in the alternate guild.

And alsothose folks who run with us and another raiding guild, even when we raided 9 hours a week. Who knows where they stash their alts, and whether they’ll continue to love us when they’re progressing at a faster clip with the “other guys.”

And let’s not forget the person who has the single raiding member and that’s it. Do they have alts? Everyone has to have alts, right? Where ARE THEY????

Other than our bubbly personalities

Ok, I just can’t say that without laughing. We’re a bunch of great folks, but SNL doesn’t happen in our guild chat. We’re just nice people with jobs and kids and a love for raiding.

So how does a guild that’s throttling back, committing less time to an activity in game, but wanting to encourage guild participation in that game keep folks on board and in love with the guild that makes it happen? I’d love to hear your ideas!

One thought on “Throttling Down

  1. Your guild sounds pretty wonderful, actually.

    I’m not sure what I’ll do come Mists, yet. My toons are scattered over friend’s guilds. I’d like to do one-day-a-week raiding that actually defeats bosses over time. Hopefully someday. :)

Comments are closed.