No Room in the Bank

Ah, stuff follows us everywhere.  If we’re not busy hoarding it in our own bags and bank space, then it’s only because we’ve purchased a guild bank in order to stuff all the little baubles that we’ve collected along the way into another dank corner never to see the light of day.

This week, for Blog Azeroth’s Shared Topic, Feraltree asks:

What items or mementos have you kept (in your toon’s pack or bank) and why? Whether it be keepsakes, quest rewards, special items, random drops, whatever! – why did you decide to hang on to it? What’s its significance to you?

Fortunately for me, I’m a hoarder by nature, so this topic fits perfectly into my schema.  My only regret in not being horde side this expansion is the fact that Goblins seem to me to be the ultimate hoarders, with instant access to their secret stashes, ready to be used at a moments notice.

Every character has their own peculiar items that I’ve kept along the way, although some things are common among many.  First off, if it’s a class-only item–librams, totems, sigils–you can bet I have every single one that I’ve been able to lay my hands on.  It doesn’t matter that I haven’t used it in the last 40 levels, or that I’ll likely never use it again.  I still have my original water, air, fire, and earth totem… you know, the ones you had to carry around in order to activate your actual totemic abilities?  I just can’t seem to give them up.  They’re the lore of my shaman, an integral part of her character, and they’ll be quietly gathering dust in my bank for the rest of days I imagine.

I also collect trinkets, particularly on my tanks.  I have trinkets with armor, some with stamina, others that have nice cooldowns, like magic bubbles.  You never know when you’re going to want to swap out to something you used, oh, 3 dungeons ago, right?

As for clothes, I generally try to limit myself to tabards that are particularly striking or tier sets that I thought epitomized the look of a certain class.  Most of these are incomplete, and still need work, but it’s always nice to be able to dress up if I want to look flashy!  My biggest problem is actually clearing out gear that I no longer use in an expansion cycle.  I tend to hoard everything that I’ve ever donned “just in case” my upgrade isn’t as great as I thought, or I find another piece of gear that makes another really shine.

Although I hate to admit it, I also tend to keep quest and reputation items that are non-transferable and that I’ll never turn in for one reason or another.  At one time, I had my entire bank and all of my bags so full of gear on my tank, Aliera, that I had to ask my husband to purge my bags.  I couldn’t decide what could go and what could stay, but I no longer had room to pick up items for my dailies.  Although I’d like to say he was merciless, he actually was quite kind, and left my most important things untouched.  I still have my Dalaran brownie, a pick-me-up handed me by a raid leader on a particularly bad night.  My flowers, gifts from friends, still remain.

And I can’t forget my Pi day outfit, which won me the 1 ring, for most circled outfit 🙂

I also took the plunge and finally got that guild bank I’d always been talking about, and now every character I have actually has bank space.  I store all my meat on Nightfall, and my gems for jewelcrafting on Aliera, but everything else–herbs, leather, orbs, enchanting mats–gets shipped to the bank alt, giving me more free room than I’ve had in years.

Can you bear to clean out your bank and bags, or do you find yourself, like me, always explaining the absolute necessity of a cherished memento?

9 thoughts on “No Room in the Bank

  1. I'd say I like my bank nice and tidy… except I'm a mess and it never is. I like the idea of my bank being nice and tidy one day… so I rarely keep things. My warrior (owner of the violet drake) does have all the seasonal items she got (even though I will never wear them), and some of my chars have a few RP-ish clothes (Leia dress, summer festival fiery one…) mostly for entertainment purposes. Dressing up in a lvl 60 dress does eliminate some of the boredom of overgearing instances.

    Otherwise, everything that's purple and not conceivably an upgrade gets sharded. I keep alternates (a hit item that might be useful when I switch other pieces of gear, a couple of trinkets) but they only last until I'm sure I won't use them. Except my favorite combination of druid tier, T8 helm (half moon) and T9 chest.

    As for the random stuff, most gets sent to my bank alt (meat, low level mats, cloth). My enchanter keeps the enchanting mats, ore is split between my two miners, my alchemist makes gems and sends them to my jewelcrafter.

    It all works out pretty well, so most of my character banks are fairly empty, giving me a decent shot at actually finding something in them.

  2. I have a lot of the seasonal outfits as well. I love collecting pets and I was so happy when they made them no longer be stored in the bank! Other than that, I don't save that many things anymore because I ended up filling my banks too much. I do have a guild bank where I keep things that can be used for reputation gains etc. though – in case I ever decide to do a grind.

    Which add-on do you use? Your bank looks so nice and tidy!

    • Currently I'm using cargbags: Nivaya. I've found it to be a great alternative to the heavier running ArkInventory which I used for a couple of years.

  3. With each new expansion, I have an attempt at clearing out my bank but I find it really hard to throw things away. Who knows when those Elune Stones might come in handy or when you might really need some holy water?

  4. Oh good, your bank is worse than mine! 😀 I've given up on tabards at least, since I figured I can always rebuy them in dalaran if needed. but I do spot at least 4 dresses in your stash – for me it's probably closer to 200 there haha…-.-

    • Hey now! And this is just one character /sadface

      I've got many of my dresses stashed around on multiple characters, and I tend to reroll on new servers fairly often leaving me with a mish-mash of seasonal and fun items scattered hither and yon.

  5. Pingback: Shared Topic: What mementos have you kept and why? « Twisted Nether Blogcast

Comments are closed.