The Window

New Content. New Encounters. New Strategies.

Did you miss the window?

Personally, I find myself standing on both sides of the window. My druid pushed through the new content pretty quickly, and is currently working on hard-modes. My gear is excellent for doing the random heroic, and I often find myself spending the fight in some kind of monologue about how everyone else could be doing things a bit better. Like the tank. I had one a couple of nights ago who thought CC was optional, and for our group it was, but if he’d had a little less DPS or a little less healing, every pull would have ended in death. It wasn’t that the tank was bad, just a bit on the squishy side.

I try to keep my nice face on when doing heroics… I really do. I don’t automatically leave if we wipe. I don’t inspect people’s gear and do the /eyeroll thing. I get zapped into my dungeon, and keep on trucking unless I find someone totally obnoxious. Until last week, I didn’t even consider the other side, but I’ve found myself there now.

I started playing my paladin again. Being a tank, and pretty much only a tank, I decided I better look at some dungeons as I leveled instead of waiting until heroics. So far, I’ve been kicked out of a group, and left a second after being called more bad names that I can stomach. What went wrong? In both cases I had misunderstood a mechanic and didn’t do quite the right thing. (I’m just gonna ignore the group I got kicked out of after I said, “Hi. This is my first time tanking this instance. Advice appreciated ^^”)

The kicker, to me, is that I’ve seen all these fights. In general, I know how they work, what the bad stuff is, how to pick up adds and the like. However, going from a healer to another role is a kick in the pants for actually knowing what’s going on. A healer knows what abilities hit hard, and what not to stand in. Sometimes we even know what to interrupt and when to blow a cooldown. However, that doesn’t help you move a boss, or when to start kiting–for that stuff, you actually need to do it!

What I fail to understand is how I’ve managed to miss the window. I purposely am running regular dungeons, figuring they’d be more forgiving towards the learning curve. This isn’t Ragefire Chasm we’re talking about: the dungeons haven’t been out all that long. Hell, I’m probably nicer to my group mates in Ragefire Chasm just because I know someone is learning a new character!

Instead of tanking now and again as I quest to 85, I have stopped joining dungeon groups altogether. An instant queue is not an advantage when you’re rolling through that many players who have nothing to say to you except “you suck.” It’s actually semi-unfair, since I did manage to garner some good groups, but in this case, the bad outweighs the good in my mind, and so a dedicated tank is yanked out of the random option since I’ll only run with a stacked group.

My tank’s window is closed.

Have you encountered “the window” and which side were you on?

9 thoughts on “The Window

  1. I think that experiences like this one can be kind of humbling, in a way. I admit that I have been in a situation, such as this one. We do start to get wrapped up in the idea that we have been there and done that, that we have seen it all and that everyone should know what we know. I think everyone who is seeing progression content eventually gets to that point.

    Rolling an alt, especially an alt that performs a role that you don't do everyday can make you see things from a different perspective. You may understand how much more difficult someone's job is than you realized and may be more forgiving when they appear to screw up or not understanding something as quickly as others might. It may help you in your role, on your main, when you have a better understanding of what someone else goes through.

    It's disconcerting, but I think there's a number of reasons to stick with it and you can really gain a lot from the experience. I agree that the Dungeon Finder can be discouraging, but don't be afriad to take advantage of guildies also trying to get some dungeon time in on their alts or even friendly mains that are willing to support you.

    🙂

    • It's funny, but I've actually played the paladin more consistently across expansions, and she's been my main much longer than my last two! 😛 I think part of my frustration is that I expect myself to fall into those old patterns (which aren't the same anymore) and still be at peak perfection, so the name-calling/rantiness just sends me over the edge.

      After I wrote up this post, I untwisted my knickers and queued for another dungeon–a pleasant and enjoyable one at that!

  2. I ran with a tank the other day in Heroic BC that had never done the place, even in regular. He also admitted not speaking english well. We wiped two or three times when he didn't quite get my explinations of the fights, but he learned very quickly and was obviously skilled. It ended up being a nice run overall. Its just a shame he's not on my server.

    I go from my main, a holy pally to my rogue and learn new stuff about the fights all the time. At least since I generally see content as the pally first; I know just how much my healer is probably cursing me when I screw up. I had a shammy that loved standing in front of stuff last night in Stonecore. I probably held my tongue longer because I know how learning melee can be.

  3. The window seems to have passed for me. When I leveled my resto shaman and my mage through regulars, people were pretty understanding about learning the instance, especially if you are learning a new role.

    NOW, however, I'm leveling my holy pally and even though I already know the instances from the perspective of a healer, it's HARD to keep up with an 85 tank speeding through Vortex Pinnacle when you're only level 82! I've left more than one group when the tank refused to slow down or called me a bad because I couldn't keep up. I really was hoping it would last a little longer.

  4. Randoms are what separate the men from the boys!

    Joking aside, I deliberately PUG'd all the new content dungeons when the expansion released.

    As a tank I find it's easy to get stuck in the 'this is how this boss is done mentality' when doing it with guildies and by PUG'ing it does two things:

    – Shows you everything that can go wrong… A week of PUG'ing randoms and you'll pretty much see every possible example of how not to do stuff

    – Shows you different ways of doing things as you see how different people have different tactics.

    It also knocks the ring rust off. After 6 months of facerolling content PUG's help me to get my edge back and remind me that I do actually need to concentrate 🙂

    • I've never found manliness to be a pre-requisite for good tanking 🙂

      I think that's the problem I'm trying to highlight. Before, my tank's been my main, so I've been leveling her/dungeoning with her first. Now she's an alt, and somehow I missed that sweet spot where people are willing to forgive mistakes… and my first leveling project was a healer — slightly different perspective there.

  5. I don't run random PUGs at all. Not on my main's main spec (holy pally — heroics); not on her off spec (ret pally — regulars) not on my alt (fire mage –regulars/heroics). I'll only do a dungeon run if I have at least 2 other guildies with me. And even then I'm leery of the other 2. I don't suffer meanness well and for some reason WoW runs have become all about 'gogogo' and 'you suck.'  I don't pay for that. When I play with a random toon who drops after a boss fight because his/her loot didn't drop? That's me being used. I don't suffer that well either.This means sometimes I end up playing my level 72 priest or my level 43 shaman. Or end up mining or experiencing the hundreds of other things WoW offers. It also means when I do enter dungeons, they are fun because I know the people I'm with.

Comments are closed.