Saz’s Screenshot Challenge #1: Favorite Hangout

This series is the brain-child of Saz, of World of Saz, who writes about anything and everything that catches her fancy and she’s got a great series for all the Hoarders out there! This challenge is comprised of 15 parts, and challenges the blogger to talk about themselves and their characters through screenshots. For more details, or to take part in the challenge yourself, go check out the original.


Challenge #1

Find yourself perching in a particular tree as a druid? Have a certain hovel you like to hang out in on your undead rogue? Show us where it is, and why your character hangs out there.

I’m sure Saz envisioned this as an easy-peasy way to get involved in the challenge, but for someone like me whose philosophy runs around “if you’re in town more than 30 minutes, you’re doing it wrong” this was a tough one. I’m actually going to look at two characters, Terrielle (my current main) and Windsoar (my previous main) since I think they provide a nice balance of something or other.

Terrielle

If Terrielle’s in town, you’re likely to find her hanging out in this seedy alley in old-town:

oldtownalley

It’s got the great Pig & Whistle Tavern:

pigandwhistle

And the Heavy Handed Weapons arms shop:

heavyhanded

What can I say, I like the quietness of the neighborhood. My home point is set for my favorite inn, and it’s just a quick jog across the street to take care of all my repair needs in between raids and out of town encounters. I’ll also admit that I have this thing about weapon shops, and I absolutely loved Dalaran’s concept of having your tier gear in the appropriate armor shop for your class. Anyone who’s played more D&D inspired games (Neverwinter Nights, Icewind Dale, Temple of Elemental Evil, etc, etc) knows that the absolute best part about arriving in town is running around to the various vendors to find spell components, weapon upgrades, new armor, and the latest and greatest in alchemical delights.

Much to my chagrin, I also spend a fair amount of time hovering over the portal roulette as we await the announcement of the night’s raiding destination, but all in all, it’s not a horrible view.

portals

Windsoar

Since I’m still using her name and all, I take pity on my poor namesake and decided to highlight her favorite roost which remains Antonidas’ Memorial in Dalaran:

antonidas

I really enjoyed plunking myself on the park bench while I did gear swaps, chatted in guild, or otherwise wasted a few minutes between activities. Rarely did you find players in this area, which gave it an empty park type feel that was really quite restful. I often try to find out of the way areas where the constant scurrying about of hundreds of avatars isn’t distracting me from my down-time, which is what I consider any trip to the main city to entail. (Antonidas is an interesting character in and of himself, and there’s a quite good wiki article about his past contributions).

Next in Saz’s Screenshot Challenge: Player Housing!

One thought on “Saz’s Screenshot Challenge #1: Favorite Hangout

  1. I absolutely love your reasoning for having your hearth where you do for Terrielle. I rather like repairing over by the smithy myself, at least on my shaman. I mean, she is wielding and axe and some mail items so the blacksmith makes some sense. It's a bit more strange to walk the druid over to the forge since she's deck out in leather and keeps a stick on her back to make her look cool; doesn't seem like something a blacksmith would know how to repair. You'd think that being a leather worker would mean that she could at least repair her own gear.

    I've honestly never much paid attention to that memorial, I always hung out in the sewers when Dalaran was the place to be. I'll have to swing by his statue the next time in town.

Comments are closed.