Saz's Screenshot Challenge #2: Player Housing

Welcome back to the Screenshot Challenge brought to us by Saz, of World of Saz.This challenge is comprised of 15 parts, and challenges the blogger to talk about themselves and their characters through screenshots. For more details, or to take part in the challenge yourself, go check out the original.

 

 

Challenge #2

If you were to claim a place to call your own, where would it be and why?

There’s a lot of ways to tackle this challenge, but I did a combination of Saz and Angelya in pulling together my shots for this part. There wasn’t one particular area that I could single out that would cover all my characters (and I didn’t really get to do all of them… of which you’ll likely be thankful as this post loads!), but I wanted to give a good representation of different places that I’ve considered home at different times in the game.

Starbreeze Village: Teldrassil

[singlepic id=271 w=600 h=338 float=center]

What can I say? I started life as a Night Elf, and I loved “finding” this for the first time. I actually ran across it before I’d made it to the next hub because I tend to wander a bit when starting a new game. Sure there’s some furlborg to clean out, and some repairs to do, but despite all that, it remains a quaint and lovely village.

Deserted Island: Coast of Darkshore

[singlepic id=267 w=600 h=338 float=center]

I wasn’t sure if my island would have survived the Cataclysm, but I’m happy to report it did! No one sends you here, there’s no quest, and no specific directions. It’s just a tiny island in the large ocean that happens to sport a cozy fire and the shell of a prior home. You just know there’s a mystery here if someone would give you a clue, and perhaps that’s part of the appeal.

Ziggurat: Eastern Plaguelands

[singlepic id=272 w=600 h=338 float=center]

I have a secret place in my heart for the undead. There’s just so…. evil. And delightful. Some of the best storylines belong to the Undead, and if you’ve never played as one you’re really missing out. When I ran across my first Ziggurat in the Plaguelands I was thrilled beyond words. They’re an important building in Warcraft III, and even though I wasn’t running around as a necromancer with a skull on my head, I could still love the building.

Lighthouse: Westfall

[singlepic id=269 w=600 h=300 float=center]

This has nothing to do with lore, or mystery, or even first loves. It’s just the fact that I thought the lighthouse was cool. And it actually worked. The ghost to scare away unwanted guests is just an added bonus.

Mage District: Stormwind

[singlepic id=270 w=600 h=338 float=center]

In terms of personality, the Mage District of Stormwind wins hands down. It’s got purple tiles, The Blue Recluse, and a rocking mage tower. How could you not want to live there?

Sunsail Anchorage: Eversong Woods

[singlepic id=78 w=600 h=338 float=center]

I’m not sure I’d want to live here, but it sure makes a great get-a-way home. When you want glitz, you should go no further than the outskirts of Silvermoon City.

Nagrand

[singlepic id=268 w=600 h=338 float=center]

Sure it’s populated with ogres, the legion, and plenty of fuzzy wuzzies. The important thing is, it looks great in any light and from any angle. And have you seen the inside of those cool draenei pods lying around? Nagrand might be the last place I want to quest, but it’s first in the list when it comes to easy living.

Next in Saz’s Screenshot Challenge: Representing Yourself!

5 thoughts on “Saz's Screenshot Challenge #2: Player Housing

  1. I absolutely love all of your choices! I'm also a huge fan of random areas such as your little deserted island. Half of the charm in WoW seems to lay hidden in all of the places that are a bit off the beaten track.

  2. Nagrand is one of my favorite zones, too, and one of my favorite things to do when I first got a flying mount was play around with the views from all the different floating islands. There are several that have their own waterfalls to and from nowhere, and the view with the graphics and ground clutter all the way up is just spectacular.

  3. I love that Darkshore island, never seen it before! (Perhaps because as horde I don't spend much time in Darkshore except to dig and explore and get to Teldrassil). Great screenies!

    • I think that's why I enjoy playing both sides of the fence. I think we all have a tendency fall into the "easiest path" as we level/travel in the world and rolling up on the other faction breaks you out of it a bit.

Comments are closed.