Circle of Healing, Rebooted

Meep! I’ve been tagged by the lovely Jaysla of Cannot Be Tamed to complete Miss Medicina’s Circle of Healers questionnaire. Although I was healing at the time (chain-heal for the win!) I still considered myself a tank primarily, and so passed up the chance to do the questionairre the first time around. However, Saunder at Non-Squishy Heals decided to ressurect the project, so I have a chance to become involved, this time as a druid!

What is the name, class, and spec of your primary healer?
Terrielle, Restoration Druid

What is your primary group healing environment? (i.e. raids, pvp, 5 mans)
10-man raiding

What is your favorite healing spell for your class and why?
Tree of Life. I missed the days of tree form. I never cried over the loss of the stumpy, twiggy little log. While I’d admit it had a cute /dance, it just wan’t for me. Now, a giant treant, that I can get behind. I only wish my afro of leaves was orange instead of purple, but we can’t have everything! Tree of Life isn’t my favorite spell because of the graphics though: it’s some of the most fun you can have with healing spam. While druids are good at pushing out a smattering of heals all over the raid, Tree of Life just makes this stronger, faster, and better. Awesome.

What healing spell do you use least for your class and why?
Wild Growth. For 99% of fights, this provides perhaps 1/3 of my overall healing, and I just don’t like it. While it’s neat having a smart heal, having a smart heal that you just hit on cooldown and requires no thought whatsoever–I’m running, no problem, I got this!–leaves something to be desired. I’d probably scream if the developers ever decided to take it away, but that doesn’t mean I think it’s fun either.

What do you feel is the biggest strength of your healing class and why?
Mobility. When it comes to running around in circles like a mad dervish of healing goodness, you can’t touch this. As fights have come to rely more on getting the raid scooting around the dance floor, druids have really shined.

What do you feel is the biggest weakness of your healing class and why?
Diversity. The druid’s answer to every problem is moar healz.

In a 25 man raiding environment, what do you feel, in general, is the best healing assignment for you?
I’d still have to go with raid healing. While druids are fairly versatile and can provide strong tank healing while still sprinkling the raid with HoTs, other classes have the ability to mitigate damage when on the tank.

What healing class do you enjoy healing with most and why?
I’ve had limited chances to play with the full gamut of healing classes since I became a druid, but if I had to pick, I’d say Discipline Priest. Disc priests’ greatest strength is mitigation, while druids is flat throughput, and the combination could be a potent combination.

What healing class do you enjoy healing with least and why?
I haven’t had to do it yet, but I’d hate to be stuck healing with another druid. Having a different class that can complement the strengths of my own class are always the best combinations.

What is your worst habit as a healer?
I can do stuff other than heal? I still myself a fairly new druid, and I still struggle with all the procs and cooldowns available to me.

What is your biggest pet peeve in a group environment while healing?

“Why did I die?” It’s not my job to watch your fail so I can report it accurately to you when you die. It’s your job to be aware that something is causing you damage and to read your debuffs/move out of crap on the floor/stand on the other side of the boss. If that doesn’t help, learn to read your combat log/WoL. This is not my job.

Do you feel that your class/spec is well-balanced with other healers for PvE healing?
Yep. While I might wish for an armor buff or mitigation cooldown, the absolute pumping through-put of druids is just awesome. Being able to mitigate damage to myself and healing on the run make me a great fit for grouping up with any set of healers.

What tools do you use to evaluate your own performance as a healer?
World of Logs and (because I like to cheat sometimes) CompareBot!

What do you think is the biggest misconception people have about your healing class?
Big numbers, weak healing. I think a lot of times, people look at all those HoTs and think druids aren’t effective without being paired up with another strong healer. Just because it’s best to let me spread the healing love around, that doesn’t mean I can’t drop strong, consistent healing on a single target as well as across the raid. All that overhealing isn’t because I’m doing my job wrong, it’s because HoTs help even out raid damage, and if some other healer can’t wait for that HoT to tick up my targets health, I can’t be held responsible for their lack of faith!

What do you feel is the most difficult thing for new healers of your class to learn?
My biggest struggle has been and continues to be using every single cooldown effectively every time.

If someone were to try to evaluate your performance as a healer via recount, what sort of patterns would they see (i.e. lots of overhealing, low healing output, etc)?
High healing output, high overhealing, and a failure to ever use that lock-candy I pick up!

Haste or Crit and why?
Haste! Crit isn’t even on my short list. Whatever I pick up as I roll along is JUST fine.

What healing class do you feel you understand least? Paladins. Last time I played a paladin healer they had a choice between Flash of Light and Holy Light. Now they have all these…. abilities. Why I hear that bacon is great, I’m not quite sure how Paladins get full credit for its awesomeness.

What add-ons or macros do you use, if any, to aid you in healing?
Currently I’m using ElvUI, Clique, and WeakAuras to take care of the core of my healing needs.

Do you strive primarily for balance between your healing stats, or do you stack some much higher than others, and why?
I go for intellect whenever possible. I was attempting to balance haste and mastery until 4.2 dropped, and now I’m slowly switching over to a higher haste to mastery ratio.

And now, tag you’re it!

Chloe of Pocketheals

Laerith of Totemic Grace

Rhii of Oh My, Kurenai


 

3 thoughts on “Circle of Healing, Rebooted

  1. I didn't know you felt that way about the original tree form. I feel less alone!

    I completely agree with you about Wild Growth. While it's an excellent output spell, having so much healing come from something that requires so little effort seems wrong to me.
    My recent post Why I dropped Nature’s Cure

  2. I'm not quite sure why Paladins get the credit for 'Bacon' either 😉

    Awesome article though. Like seeing the thoughts of other types of healers.

Comments are closed.