Casual Greed or Character Flaw?

A few weeks ago a couple of my friends came back to the game, and since then they’ve been leveling to 85 and trying to decide on what to do. Although they’ve both been raiders in the past, with their current schedules, they aren’t in any hurry to find a guild. However, the upcoming transmogrification is very exciting to one of the pair, so 4 of us banded together to tackle the final bosses in BC to try to flesh out his sets.

Things were going rather well. We’d taken down BT, SSC and were working on Hyjal when another player asked to join our group. As only two of us were actively collecting, this seemed like a great plan since more bodies meant faster clearing, and we really wanted to finish Sunwell too. When they joined, they seemed confused as to why we would have loot on FFA, and we explained that it made looting randoms easier, and anything that would bind could be discussed in group; however, player A & B had priority since they were the main motivation for the run. They still seemed a bit put out that we didn’t have it set for rare+ so that they could just roll and not have to loot, but frankly, we liked our way since people could speak and haggle to their heart’s content without a pesky timer.

Things went along swimmingly, and a bit faster with the extra person. We rapidly finished up Hyjal and went over to Sunwell. Although we had a little mixup with killing the dragon before her shadow, we just got spit back out and were able to retackle the boss. We happily finish off Kil’jaedan, and Thori’dal drops! Exciting times! We got an achievement for our guild. But as I go to take a gander at what else dropped, I notice something odd… the bow is gone. The player that had asked to join us had looted it.

The player didn’t tell anyone they were looting it. They tried to “trade it around” afterwards only to discover it couldn’t be traded. Since that was our last dungeon of the night, and it was getting rather late, the group broke up. It wasn’t until sometime the next morning that I realized that I was aggravated….like, seriously aggravated. It’s not that I wanted the bow, I didn’t. I personally would have given is to Player A since he was the person we were doing the dungeon for (and he could have used it) or Player B who is a known achievement whore. However, if neither wanted it, it would’ve defaulted to the other player since they were the only other class who could use it.

However, this player bypassed our casual and carefree looting system among friends, and made loot a priority over relationships with groupmates. I have an issue with that. It’s not like the loot’s good for anything except its cosmetic or achievement ability. It doesn’t help that this is someone I’m guilded with and must interact with on a weekly basis. This incident has changed my perspective on their character, and I’m a bit disappointed at the result.

Being the person that I am, I haven’t discussed this with the player. I haven’t played since that night, and like I said earlier, it wasn’t until the next day that it even occurred to me that I was unhappy about how they’d handled themselves. I do know that I don’t want this person in another casual run with me right now. On the other hand, I don’t think this affects their ability to raid or to be a good group member, so I’m hesitant to make an issue out of it past my own backyard (as it were) since there’s really nothing to be done about it. The person chose to do an action that cannot be undone.

Since I’m in a quandry, I figured I would do what I usually do when upset or bewildered by the actions of others, and come ask the advice of my readers.

Would you choose to let the issue drop, and just hope it’s one of those “greed of the moment” type things, or would you talk to the player about it?

17 thoughts on “Casual Greed or Character Flaw?

  1. Hmm, tough one, since this was a guildie who you should assume trust with. If they really intended to trade it and didn’t know legendaries bind on pick up permanently (because of the achievement), I’d consider it pretty human. I know I’d want to pick up and hold a legendary just for a minute if I could, like going window shopping in Paris. If they knew that full well, it’s kind of a jerk move.

    They could probably try ticketing it as an act of good faith for the person who should have been given it, if they’re actually feeling bad about accidentally ninjaing it. It might not work though because I don’t know if GMs can remove achievements. If they meant to do it (and it’s really quite hard to tell which it is), I’d just keep it in mind for next time s/he wants to do a retro run, and let it go for the sake of professional relations. People lose their head over orange text and I don’t think there’s honestly much you can do about it. Sucks for your friend who is a collector though!

    • That orange text is definitely enticing 🙂 I personally don’t want to go through the hassle of a GM ticket, and I don’t think it’s honestly necessary. It just concerns me when people lose their head over gear!

  2. Not a big issue in the long run, shouldn’t of left it on FFA with new-ish people. Lesson learned.

    Does transmogrification work for Legendary’s anyways? It has some restrictions in place for those but I’m foggy on the details.

    • I honestly don’t know if it does or not as I haven’t been that interested in it. I know that it has to be trade for trade (i.e. mace for mace, plate for plate), but I’m foggy on the details as well 🙂

    • I took 2 seconds to research it and here is what I found. (Although this may be already known I suppose since the post wasn’t clear if they wanted the for transmog.)

      http://blue.mmo-champion.com/topic/198888/transmogrification-rules

      • Legendary items cannot be transmogrified.

      • Legendary items cannot be used to transmogrify.

      So really all that was lost was useless FoS achievement and a shiny toy that’d fill an inventory space 99.999% of the time.

  3. Looks like the player that got the item was either A) greedy as you suggested or B) is a victim of autoloot. (I am not sure how legendarys work a confirm box)

    Either way this leads up to the ideal of “good fences make good neighbors” while the run was meant for player A&B, it’s quite understood that people whom join will want a piece of the loot action. And a legendary is a great prize indeed to have.

    In the end what you considered a care free looting event turned into a situation when something worth a care dropped. And without the loot rules enforced you fell victim to the potentially greedy player.

    For me I’d take it as a lesson learned, and change loot rules once those out of my ‘inner sanctum’ of friends join in. I would also do as you state in the end keep it in your backyard and keep a bit away from the offending person.

    • Everything above a green was on auto-confirm, so I’m sure it applies to legendaries as well. I fully expected the newcomer to take part in the loot action, however, we also clearly stated that loot decisions for binds should be discussed with the group.

      Right now I’m leaning towards a very stringent “no way Jose” view on accepting “others” into these kind of runs, because I really do like the flexibility of discussing loot vs. the aggravation of having a loot master, or the possible bad feelings from a need/greed model when we’re really aiming for specific goals.

  4. In the beginning, when I first started playing, I ran with a friend of mine. And we put loot in FFA so whoever was closer could loot the defias jerks. But, my friend had a habit of simply shift-clicking instead of just clicking, so he was ALWAYS faster than me and ALWAYS got the loot. It was hard to break him of the habit, and honestly, not worth it, since shift-clicking is pretty good most of the time. So I changed it back to group loot.

    Having said that, a BOP item usually has a dialogue box pop up that says “looting this item will bind it to you”. I’m not sure if that occurs on FFA. An accidental shift-click… whatever. But clicking YEAH SURE to that confirmation box… ahem…

    • We pretty much had one player who was nice enough to LOOT ALL THE THINGZ because most of us didn’t want to fill our bags with useless crap but boy, the money was sure nice ^^ (I personally have my loot set up to automatically auto-loot… I have to shift-click to NOT take everything!)

  5. So a couple of months back when we were working on Heroic Alysrazor, one of our tanks said something that made me say red about my healing. And I let it go – at least publicly. However, in the time since then everything that this guild mate has said has been colored by that one comment that he made. And if I’m being honest, it’s made me less tolerant of things he does that would have likely not irritated me. All because I’ve been stewing on this one comment.

    It’s not really very healthy. And I probably should have said something about how he not only offended me, but how I was his top healer for the encounter and his careless commentary pissed me off. But I didn’t. And as a result I feel like there is no tension because I never made my feelings known.

    As such, from being on your end in a somewhat similar situation, I’d say something privately and get it off your chest. If I could go back and do it again, I would have changed how I handled it by not saying anything.

  6. ^ Zel

    I’ve been running old places with my boyfriend and we leave it on need/greed for the same reason. It’s not that we don’t trust each other to share whatever drops; he’s just too damn fast. It also means that we have an equal chance of full bags of junk.

    Had you been looting things then trading them or seeing what was there and debating over it before anyone looted? If it was the former, I think I’d give them the benefit of a doubt and count it as an honest mistake. If not, then yeah, I wouldn’t care to invite that person again on any run with such an open loot system.

    • When husband and I run together, we just leave it on FFA. Since he usually plays some type of melee and I play some type of caster, he gets all of the loot. Then I get to make fun of him for having bags full of junk (I looked in his druid’s bags at 83 and he still had some wool cloth from whenever we were the level that wool cloth drops; he’s terrible at managing his bags).

      If we let someone join us and something drops which isn’t dealt with in the way I would have chosen (had I realized that it was going to drop ahead of time), then I just tell myself that I decided not to put the loot back to group, and I’ll just have to live with the consequences.

      It happens, and if you’re concerned enough about your guildie’s motivations in taking the item, the best thing to do to ease those concerns is to ask the guildie what happened. The internet can only speculate, but your guildie knows what happened.

  7. That’s such a terrible thing to have to deal with.

    I think the course of action really depends on how strong your urge to confront the person is. If you really feel that it might help you feel better to at least talk to them about it then I’d suggest maybe talking to the GM first. They’ll definitely want to know what happened and will want to be able to plan for how they might react. They might even ask that you avoid talking to them about it (to avoid any other problems) or ask if they can be there when you bring it up. It’s always hard to tell how people might react to being called out for something, intentional or not, and it’s best to have a plan for what you might be facing if you do it.

    I’ve always been someone that was able to let things go, but I’m pretty sure I would have an issue with a situation like this. It seems like a breach of trust that is generally unexpected in a guild full of mature, responsible individuals. I can only hope that it truly was accidental.

    Whatever you decided to do, Good luck.

  8. Its always a dicey situation when it comes to loot even if it has well defined rules like ML or group loot . Yours was a case of FFA looting . If you really want the bow and the other player is nice enough to return it , you will have to ask him to make a gm ticket to have it reassigned to someone else, your ticket will do no good.
    And people can be real asses when it comes to the loot , last week i was tanking Shannox HC in a pug and the 391 axe dropped. I won the roll (as a dk tank) but the raid leader misclicked and assigned it to the fury warrior who promptly dropped the group. No amount of tickets from Raid leader or me or other raid members helped, as the rule is only the current holder of loot need to make the ticket to return it to someone else.In the end I ended up buying the heroic axe for 45000g from him as there was some time left in that trade timer (2hr timer on items that you loot from raid/dungeons).
    So if you really want that item , go through the hassle of talking to that player and get him to open a ticket , or just ignore it and remember the moral for future.

  9. In answer to the title question, outside of role playing a villain, I would say that the answer would be character flaw. People tend to act as they act, whether online or off. Some traits just become more pronounced with a lack of perceived consequences.

    The person who would ninja or not return after a misloot (@anon) an item, is the same person who would return a found wallet minus the cash that was in it as a finders fee. “Honest, the cash was already gone. And you can’t prove that it wasn’t.”

  10. Sounds like he made a stupid newbish mistake… clicked a bag it said “Hey you want to loot this”.. and he just mechanically clicked yes.. probably would not hurt to clear the air with him and ask him “Hey what happened with that the other night?”.. and see if it seems like an honest mistake or he is a jerk so you know in the future..

Comments are closed.