Minipost: A Random Act of Kindness

I think my regular readers are well aware of my recent spate of spaz over my performance as a boomkin. What you may not know is that I regularly make it late to Monday night raids. Due to some weird scheduling snafu (ie my professor decided to tack on thesis advisement after class) my regular 1/2 early time frame has ended up being anywhere from 15-30 minutes late. Every single week so far this semester. For a punctual person like myself, it’s downright torture.

I’ve gotten in the habit of sending a text to my RL as I’m heading out to my car, as it gives him at least 30 minutes to figure something out. I’ve pointed out more than once that he can sub me on Monday nights because I’m invariably late, yet he never has until last week. While I wouldn’t say I spazzed (ok, mabye just a little) I did do a double take. Replace…. moi? I told him I had no problem replacing me if it was due to my schedule, but if it was my performance, I wanted to talk about it. Reassurances achieved, I happily sat out and did some reading.

This week, miracle of miracles, I got out of class close enough to on-time that I couldn’t make it for invites, but I could make it for the raid start time. I was honestly a little giddy, and I may have broken the speed limit on isolated parts of the drive home. I get all logged in only to find my entire team in the Firelands ready to go. To say I pouted to myself would be an understatement. I let my RL know I was available as a sub if I was needed, then logged out to enjoy some chili dogs and tv with the hubby, all in all, not a bad night.

Yep, I felt this happy

Yes, the kindness, I’m getting to that. After the raid I get a message from my RL. He just wanted to let me know that I wasn’t replaced because anyone would be more awesome than me, but they just happened to have a full house for the night. And you know what? I really did know that, but having him say it made me feel a lot better. I’m all in favor of sub rotations, and frankly, he should probably sit me every Monday since my schedule is so erratic. However, he didn’t have to take the time to send me a message as he was (I’m sure) heading to bed for the evening.

And I’d just like to say: Thank you!

Have you had someone in game do a random act of kindness for you?

