Go Read Something Good!

So, I love everyone (/love), but what are you doing hanging around here?  I post, don’t post, scribble something on a notecard and say it’s a post, and still you come by!  You’re making me feel a bit guilty, k?

Over the holidays I discovered the wonder of starring well-liked posts in my feed-reader… and while you may have read quite a few of them trawling the interwebs on your own, just in case you missed some good stuff, here’s what I’ve been storing since last I linked!

I’ve always added some commentary about what I should have commented about, since, well, I’ve been horrible about commenting, and this way you don’t feel like I’m sending you out into the nether without saying something constructive, or at the very least, pointing out the good vans from the bad (awesome) vans with candy.

Addons

Tobold’s Disturbing Question–Addon or not to addon.  Its an old question, but always worth looking at with fresh eyes.  This one is courtesy of the PP Inn.

All You Ever Wanted to Know about Macros–Yes, I still sucky at macros, but this one is a pretty good all-around look at how macros work and their flexibility and limitations.  Worth a read if you want anything more complicated than /tar bad stuff.  A la No Stock UI.

Druids

Faking Feral–What’s a feral tank to do when there’s nothing to do?  Fake it!  Courtesy of Druid Main.

Icewalker vs. Tuskarr’s Vitality–Directed at the orbital laser-beam wielders (that’s moonkin to you) it’s still an interesting read and justification for Tuskarr’s Vitality.  The Strayegg has spoken.

Guild Leadership

Tools for Mentoring–For all you GM’s dealing with a basket case, this one is for you!  From Cold Comfort.

Guild Introspection: Who you really are–How much control do you really have over how outsiders perceive your guild?  Whatisboom thought about this one, and actually, a question I had only vaguely considered before (I mean, we’re awesome, right?)

Trying to Solve the World’s Problems–How not to carry the entire guild bank of problem’s on your shoulders.  Another one from Cold Comfort.

General Gaming

The Death of Multicultural Gaming–I thought, yes, yes indeed when I saw this one.  I love the multicultural aspect of gaming.  I have a dear, dear friend in Norway, and I still talk about that one night in FFXI when I was grouped with a totally non-English speaking group and we relied entirely on the (Hi) (Casting)(Heal II) in-game translation system.  Everything went like clockwork, and I had the best night of grinding that I can remember for ages.  So what happens when you no longer know that you’re playing with someone over the pond?  Does it matter to you?  We Fly Spitfires talked about this one–and if you hate him for the Matticus post, please don’t send him death messages from my link 😛

Swag!

Zath’s World of Warcraft Competition–Free goodies, you have until Feb. 7th!

Raiding

WoL Introduction–I wish this blogger would post more often for my reading enjoyment.  The posts are always excellent, and this one explains in meticulous detail how to navigate World of Logs.  Life In Group 5, especially if you’re a shaman, should be in your reader folks!

DPS Check or Execution–What’s easier to overcome?  How do you tell the difference?  Annexxia at Bible of Dreams might be able to help you find the answer.  However, only you can answer… which would you rather prefer!

LFG

Absolute Power–Who has absolute power in your 5-man LFG run?  The dps, the healer or the tank?  See what Cassandri at Hots & Dots says about it (and I couldn’t agree more… hence, why my tank has more pugging experience than my healer!)

Healing

Holy Spec Debate (Paladin)–Ophelie at the Boss Pally chose to take another look at the “big spec” debate with Holy paladins.  While I will likely never, ever spec a holy paladin ever, ever again, I have this morbid fascination with any tree that I have ever been interested enough to play.

Disc Priest Gear List (3.3)–What can I say?  I trust the turkey (Bobturkey that is) when it comes to gear lists.  You don’t get many, but those I link, I trust.

Resto Druid Gear 3.3 (casual or 10-man focused)–Not often do you see a really solid gear list that is aimed at casual/beginning/10-man raiders, and this one is extensive.

The Issue with Discipline Raid Healing–I haven’t seen it (other than standing around between mob packs and the disc priest decides bubbling the entire raid will lighten his day); however, I was intrigued to read a bit about stretching the tree.  I don’t think it’s a viable solution for most raiding situations, but experimenting with your class is the spice of WoW.

Warlock

Do You Qualify to be a Warlock?–You are not evil enough, trust me 🙂

Shared Topic

Surviving PvE as Melee DPS–A shared topic can be literal or figurative… or just plain fun.

Righteous Orbs (yes, the get their own category today)

Honestly, just go read… trust me.

Winning Asshole Chicken

I took the one more traveled because I’m not a bloody idiot

PvP

It’s About the Towers–So, I haven’t been a “serious” PvPer since Alterac Valley was an all day affair.  Part of the problem is… I don’t know the BG’s anymore.  I don’t understand why the objectives are being taken like they are, and I hate participating simply for HK’s.  I was so thrilled to see this guide, and I hope to see some more for BG noobs like myself.

6 thoughts on “Go Read Something Good!

  1. "We Fly Spitfires talked about this one–and if you hate him for the Matticus post, please don’t send him death messages from my link"

    ROFL, I'm never gonna live that guest post down, am I? 😀 At least the only way to go now is up! 🙂

    • Probably not, shit-storms last a long time on the interwebs 😛 The good news is, people will stop remembering it was YOU pretty soon ^^

  2. Aww I'm flattered to have some of my posts make this list 🙂

    There are a few posts here I haven't read yet. I guess it's time to get busy!

  3. Thanks for the kind words; it's always wonderful to feel appreciated! As far as the more posts go–baby steps. Unfortunately, I don't think I've quite picked up the blogging mindset yet; I labor over posts for way too long trying to find the right turn of phrase instead of simply churning things out. Thankfully, I've plenty of great blogs like yours to learn from and emulate. ^_^

Comments are closed.